Home > English (General) > ‘Sultan Of Sulu’ Attends Wedding In Malaysia

‘Sultan Of Sulu’ Attends Wedding In Malaysia

Michael Kaung

Amidst controversy over the missing self-proclaimed ‘Sulu Sultan’, comes a marriage between a member of the Negri Sembilan royalty and the family of the ‘recognised’ Sultan of Sulu.

KOTAKINABALU: A recent wedding that saw two royal houses – one Malaysian and the other from the southernPhilippines– tie the knots may serve to clarify who is the “recognised” Sultan of Sulu.

The wedding ceremony in Kuala Lumpur between the nephew of Mohammad Jamalulul Kiram III, who claims the title “Sultan of Sulu”, and a royalty of Negri Sembilan brings a new dimension to royal ties between Peninsular Malaysia, thePhilippinesand, to some extent,Sabah.

The current self-proclaimed “Sulu Sultan”,Sabahbusinessman Mohamad Akjan Ali, has gone “missing” following his so-called coronation as the sultan at Kampung Likas, Kota Kinabalu, on Feb 2.

Akjan and other Umno operatives were arrested and detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) in the mid-1990s.

The arrests were triggered after he was allegedly caught with a briefcase containing about 2,000 ICs at the Kota Kinabalu International Airporton a return flight from Kuala Lumpur.

Mohammad Jamalulul and his wife Dr Fatima Celia were the special guests of Tunku Iskandar Abdullah and his wife Maneesah Ahmad at the marriage of their daughter Tunku Izrina Mazuin to Ifrahim Baydr Ismael Omar.

The Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz Munawir and his consort Tuanku Aishah Rohani Mahmud were the royal guests of honour.

Other dignitaries included former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohammad and the Malaysian ambassador to the Philippines, according to a statement by Naufal Jumadil, a special envoy to Jamalulul Kiram.

Some 60 family members of the groom’s entourage from the Southern Philippines, including the Rumah Bicara of the Sultanate, the special envoy to the Sultan Sulu, Naufal Jumadil, as well as members of the royal families from all over Malaysiawere also among the guests that graced the occasion.

— FreeMalaysiaToday

  1. November 14, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  2. November 13, 2011 at 4:01 am

    I’m unsure the position you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much a lot more or comprehension more. Thank you for wonderful info I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

  3. November 12, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Someone I do the job with visits your site quite often and advisable it to me to browse also. The composing type is excellent as well as subject material is suitable. Many thanks for your perception you provide the viewers!

  4. November 11, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Regards for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information.

  5. November 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Hello there, I discovered your blog using Google concurrently as searching for the related topic, your site got right here up, it looks great. I’ve bookmarked it around my google bookmarks.

  6. November 8, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    I am glad to be one of several visitors on this outstanding internet site (:, regards for putting up.

  7. November 8, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit evaluation on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If attainable, as you grow to be experience, would you mind updating your weblog with extra details? It is extremely useful for me. Large thumb up for this weblog put up!

  8. November 8, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    You might undoubtedly see your know-how within the perform you compose. The world hopes for even more passionate writers just like you who are not frightened to say how they feel. All the time follow your heart.I?m undecided the place you are gaining your information and facts, but great subject. I needs to shell out some time learning a lot additional or knowledge far more. Thanks for fantastic data I was seeking this facts for my mission..

  9. November 8, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I found your weblog web site on google and check a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Looking for forward to studying extra from you afterward!…

  10. November 7, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    There are some attention-grabbing points in time in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There may be some validity however I’ll take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  11. November 7, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    I’m often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and preserve checking for brand spanking new information.

  12. November 7, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    As soon as I discovered this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  13. November 7, 2011 at 3:00 am

    Fantastic blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

  14. November 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    There may be noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain good factors in features also.

  15. November 2, 2011 at 6:18 am

    Some times its a pain in the ass to read what people wrote but this web site is really user pleasant! .

  16. October 31, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Appreciate it for this post, I am a big fan of this site would like to keep updated.

  17. October 31, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Thank you for taking the time to talk about this, I sense strongly about this and like understanding extra on this topic. If feasible, as you acquire experience, would you intellect updating your blogging site with much more facts? It is very handy for me.

  18. October 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Real instructive and wonderful body structure of subject matter, now that’s user friendly (:.

  19. October 28, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Awsome submit and straight towards the level. I don’t know if this can be truly the most effective location to question but do you men have any ideea wherever to retain the services of some qualified writers? Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

